In Japan, there are four major styles of karate and several smaller ones.

The main styles are;

Shotokan, Wado Ryu, Shito Ryu, and Goju Ryu.

In Canada Chito Ryu is also widely practiced.

By far the largest is Shotokan which is the style that we practice as taught by the JKA.

The word Shotokan (松濤館) can be divided into two words.

Funakoshi was the first chief instructor of the JKA and the founding father of modern karate in Japan.

Shoto  (松濤) was Gichin Funakoshi’s pen name (he wrote poetry).

Kan (館) means house or practice hall.

Therefore, Shotokan means the place where Shoto practices.

Styles of Karate